## MINUTES OF WINCHESTER U3A ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING HELD IN LITTLETON MEMORIAL HALL AT 14.30 ON 14<sup>th</sup> MARCH 2023

1. WELCOME: Bob Shemilt, Chairman, welcomed 83 members to the meeting.

2. APOLOGIES: Belinda Ward, Chris Peck, Margaret Boyden, Marjorie Patient

**3. MINUTES of Annual General Meeting held on 10<sup>th</sup> May 2022:** These were accepted.

4. MATTERS ARISING from the minutes: None.

**5. CHAIRMAN'S REPORT:** Bob Shemilt thanked Freda Bates (Vice-chairman) for her generous and valuable help as he took on the vacant position of Chairman. He also thanked David Boddy (Secretary) for his work over the past three years. The meetings on Zoom had been interesting and had helped to keep the group going. The experiment with meeting in the city centre had been worth trying, and is now part of our regular pattern, especially useful for those who find it difficult to travel to Littleton. The meeting unanimously approved the Chairman's report

6. TREASURER'S REPORT AND ACCOUNTS: Vernon Tottle had published the accounts on the website and in the Newsletter. He noted that the bank balance shown in the accounts was quite high, partly because during lockdown members had continued to pay their subscription, but we had not been able to hold meetings and therefore pay speakers. Rising costs will inevitably reduce the surplus this year, but we are still likely to be in a good financial position. He invited anyone with questions about the accounts to approach him afterwards, so as not to delay the day's speaker. He then proposed that the meeting accept the accounts, which it did unanimously.

He also thanked David Smith for his work as Independent Financial Examiner. Joan Sherrin proposed a vote of thanks to the Treasurer for all his work, and to the rest of the committee for all the work they do for the membership. The meeting responded with applause.

**7. ELECTION OF COMMITTEE FOR 2023-2024:** Joan Sherrin had been nominated and seconded as Chair, Ann Edwards as vice-Chair and Susan Shannon as Secretary. Julia Whitburn has resigned, but all other members of the current committee are prepared to serve another year and were unanimously re-elected as follows: Vernon Tottle (Treasurer), Barry Brinkman (Webmaster), Marion Schiesser (Membership), Nick Vernon (Speakers), John Craig (Groups) and Freda Bates. Bob then declared the formal meeting closed at 14.45, and the afternoon continued with the usual monthly talk.

## NEXT AGM: 12<sup>h</sup> MARCH 2024 AT LITTLETON MEMORIAL HALL. DOORS OPEN 14.15 F0R 14.30 START

David Boddy Secretary 14.03.23